
 

 

State of New Hampshire    
 

Department of Labor  

 

 
 
 
 
Dear Parent/Legal Guardian: 

 

 

The attached Youth Employment Certificate is required for any youth 12 to 15 years old and must 

be on file at the employer's place of business within three business days of the first day of 

employment. 

 

1. Please complete the top portion which includes the employer’s name, employer’s FED ID 

number and the business address; this information should have been provided by the 

employer upon the offer of employment via the employer’s Request for Child Labor form 

(available on the DOL website).  

 

2. Next is the name, age, date of birth and sex of your child; then the job description, which 

also comes from the employer’s form. Please be aware there are restrictions on the types of 

jobs permitted by the New Hampshire Department of Labor’s child labor laws, as well the 

United States Department of Labor’s child labor laws (we have attached this information for 

your convenience).  

 

3. The youth’s signature, parent’s signature and date of issue are all required to be 

completed/included on the mid-section of the form.  

 

4. Upon completion of the form: 

 

a. Provide a copy to the employer for their records; 

b. Provide a copy to the DOL at the address below; 

c. Retain a copy for your records. 

 

If you have any questions regarding the Youth Employment Certificate form or the youth 

employment laws, please feel free to contact us.  

 

To contact the NH DOL Inspection Division 

 

By email: Inspectiondiv@dol.nh.gov 

 

By phone: (603) 271-0127 

 

By mail: NH Department of Labor PO BOX 2076 CONCORD, NH 03302-2076 

 

All youth employment information is available on our web site at:  

http://www.nh.gov/labor/inspection/wage-hour/youth-employment.htm 
 
  

Hugh J. Gallen 
State Office Park 
Spaulding Building 
PO Box 2076 
Concord, NH 03302-2076 
603/271-3176 
TDD Access: Relay NH 
1-800-735-2964 
FAX: 603/271-2668 
http://www.nh.gov/labor 

Ken Merrifield 
Commissioner 
 

Rudolph W. Ogden, III 
Deputy Commissioner 

 

 
 



 

 

NH YOUTH EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATE 
 

 

EMPLOYER          EMPLOYER ID#                  

 

ADDRESS               

               

NAME OF YOUTH         AGE    DOB        SEX  

 

JOB DESCRIPTION              

                

Youth Signature       Date of Signature       

 

                               

Issuing Officer      Date of Issue                  School District    

 

                           

Parents Signature      Date of Signature 

 

                

Revocation Officer     Date of Revocation     

 

Adequate health:  Yes (   )  No (   ) 

 

CERTIFICATE 
 

I.   No youth shall be employed or permitted to work without a certificate except for his/her parents, grandparents 

or    guardian or at work defined in RSA 276-A as casual, or as farm labor. 

 

II.  No youth under 12 years of age may be employed or permitted to work except for his/her parents, grandparents,     

    or at work as defined in RSA 276-A as casual, or in the door- to -door delivery of newspapers.  

 

III. If a student does not continue to meet a satisfactory level of academic performance after the issuance of       

    the certificate, the principals or schools or persons authorized by them may revoke the certificate. 

 

HOURS 
I.  No youth under 16 years of age shall be employed or permitted to work earlier than 7 o’clock am or later than 9 

  o’clock pm, more than 3 hours per day on school days and 23 hours per week during school weeks, except that 

on   non-school days he/she may be employed 8 hours per day and, during vacations, 48 hours per week.  

 

PENALTIES 
I. In addition to other penalties and remedies imposed under RSA 276-A, the commissioner shall assess a civil 

 penalty on an employer with a minimum of $100.00 per violation and a maximum of $2,500.00 per violation. 

 

       FEDERAL LAW 
I. This certificate is issued under New Hampshire state law. Federal wage & hour law (the Fair Labor Standards 

Act, “FLSA”) also applies to most employers. For example, employers covered under the FLSA may not employ 

in non- agricultural employment any child who is under 14 years old. If you are in doubt as to whether you are an 

employer covered by the FLSA, or if you have any other questions about federal wage and hour law, contact the 

U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 1155 Elm Street, Suite 501. Manchester NH 03101, TEL. 

603-666-7716. A short fact sheet, covering some of these issues, is attached to this certificate for your 

convenience.  

  



 

 

 

Overview of restrictions in the Child Labor laws, State & Federal 
 

 

Federal Law 

 
The certificate is issued under New Hampshire state law.  Federal wage and hour law (the Fair Labor 

Standards Act, “FLSA”) also applies to most employers.  For example, employers covered under the FLSA 

may not employ,  in non-agricultural employment any child who is under 14 years old.  It is important to 

know whether the employer is subject to both Federal/State laws, or State laws only. If you are in 

doubt as to whether an employer is covered by the FLSA, or if you have any other question about federal 

wage and hour law please contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 1155 Elm Street, 

Suite 501, Manchester, NH 03101,  TEL. 603-666-7716.  A short fact sheet, covering some of these issues, is 

attached for your convenience. 

 

 
TIME AND HOUR RESTRICTIONS 
 

If subject to both Federal/State laws, fourteen and fifteen year-old minors may not be employed: 

1. During school hours. (An exception is provided for minors employed pursuant to work 

experience and career exploration [WECEP] program pre-approved by the DOL.) 

2. Before 7 AM or after 7 PM, except from June 1 through Labor Day, when the evening 

hours are extended to 9 PM. 

3. More than three hours per day, on school days. 

4. More than eight hours per day, on non-school days. 

5. More than 18 hours per week, in school weeks. 

6. More than 40 hours per week, in non-school weeks. 

 

 

PERMITTED OCCUPATIONS FOR 14 AND 15 YEAR-OLD MINORS IN RETAIL, FOOD 

SERVICE AND GASOLINE SERVICE ESTABLISHMENTS 

 

1. Office and clerical work, including operation of office machines. 

2. Cashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising departments, window 

trimming, and comparative shopping. 

3. Price marking and tagging by hand or by machine, assembling orders, packing and 

shelving. 

4. Bagging and carrying out customers’ orders. 

5. Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, and public transport. 

6. Cleanup work, including the use of vacuum cleaners and non-commercial floor waxers, and 

maintenance of grounds, but not including the use of power-driven mowers or cutters. 

7. Kitchen work and other work involved in preparing and serving food and beverages, 

including the operation of machines and devices used in the performances of such work, 

such as dishwashers, toasters, dumb waiters, popcorn poppers, and milk shake blenders. 

8. Work in connection with cars and trucks, if confined to the following: 

Dispensing gas and oil. 

Courtesy servicing on the premises of the gasoline service station. 

Hand car cleaning, washing, and polishing. 

Other Occupations permitted by this section, 

 

BUT NOT INCLUDING WORK: 

involving the use of pits, racks, or lifting apparatus, or involving the inflation of any 

tire mounted on a rim equipped with a removable retaining ring. 

 



 

 

9. Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and 

stocking goods when performed in areas physically separate from areas where meat is 

prepared for sale, and outside freezers or meat coolers. 

 

 

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS FOR 14 AND 15 YEAR-OLD MINORS 

 

1. Any MANUFACTURING occupation. 

2. Any MINING occupation. 

3. PROCESSING occupations, such as filleting of fish, dressing poultry, cracking nuts or 

laundering as performed by commercial laundries and dry cleaning. 

4. Occupations requiring the performance of any duties in WORKROOMS OR 

WORKPLACES WHERE GOODS ARE MANUFACTURED, MINED OR 

OTHERWISE PROCESSED. 

5. PUBLIC MESSENGER SERVICE. 

6. OPERATION OR TENDING OF HOSTING APPARATUS or of ANY POWER-

DRIVEN MACHINERY (other than office machines and machines in retail, food service, 

and gasoline service establishments which are specified in the foregoing list as machines 

which such minors may operate in such establishments). 

7. ANY OCCUPATIONS FOUND AND DECLARED TO BE HAZARDOUS. 

8. OCCUPATIONS IN CONNECTION WITH: 

a) TRANSPORTATION of persons or property by rail, highway, air, on 

water, pipeline, or other means. 

b) WAREHOUSING and STORAGE. 

c) COMMUNICATIONS and PUBLIC UTILITIES. 

d) CONSTRUCTION (including repair). 

(EXCEPT office and sales work in connection with a, b, c and d, when not performed at the site 

of the above.) 

9. ANY OF THE FOLLOWING OCCUPATIONS, even in retail, food service, or gasoline 

service establishments: 

a) Work performed IN or ABOUT BOILER or ENGINE ROOMS. 

b) Work in connection with MAINTENANCE or REPAIR of the 

ESTABLISHMENT, MACHINES or EQUIPMENT. 
c) OUTSIDE WINDOW WASHING that involves working from window 

sills. 

d) ALL WORK requiring the use of LADDERS, SCAFFOLDS, or their 

substitutes. 

e) COOKING (EXCEPT at soda fountains, lunch counters, snack bars, or 

cafeteria serving counters) and BAKING. 

f) Occupations which involve OPERATING, SETTING UP, ADJUSTING, 

CLEANING, OILING OR REPAIRING power-driven FOOD SLICERS 

and GRINDERS, FOOD CHOPPERS and CUTTERS, and BAKERY-

TYPE MIXERS. 

g) Work in FREEZERS and MEAT COOLERS and all work in 

PREPARATION OF MEATS for sale (EXCEPT wrapping, sealing, 

labeling, weighing, pricing and stocking, when performed in other areas). 

h) LOADING and UNLOADING GOODS to and from trucks, railroad cars, 

or conveyors. 

i) All occupations in WAREHOUSES. 

j) Occupations involving INDUSTRIAL HOMEWORK. 

10. Any of the occupations prohibited for minors under the age of 18. 

 

 



 

 

PROHIBITED HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS FOR ALL MINORS UNDER THE AGE OF 

18 YEARS 

 

1. Manufacturing and storing explosives. 

2. Motor vehicle driving and outside helper. 

3. Coal mining. 

4. Logging and sawmilling. 

5. Power-driven woodworking machines. 

6. Exposure to radioactive substances. 

7. Power-driven hoisting apparatus. 

8. Power-driven metal-formation, punching, and shearing machines. 

9. Mining, other than coal mining. 

10. Slaughtering, or meat packing, processing, or rendering. 

11. Power-driven bakery machines. 

12. Power-driven paper-products machines. 

13. Manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products. 

14. Power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears. 

15. Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations. 

16. Roofing operations. 

17. Excavation operations. 

 

 

 
 


