ECONOMIC CORPORATION OF NEWPORT

Friday, June 11th, 2021 – 8:00 am Sugar River Bank Community Room, Newport NH

Annual Meeting Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Minutes: May 17, 2021
- 3. Treasurer's Report: YTD Financials
- 4. Amendment to By-Laws in regards to maximum number of Directors on Board

There shall be a minimum of nine (9) and a maximum of sixteen (16) Directors for the Corporation, which shall include the Town Manager, one Town Selectman, and the Executive Director of the Chamber of Commerce who shall be ex-officio Directors. All Directors, with the exception of the Town Manager, Selectman, and ED of the Chamber, shall be elected by the Board of Directors at their annual meeting: provided those elected shall include at a minimum two (2) members for a three year term, two (2) members for a two year term, and two (2) members for a one year term. Board members will be elected based upon their experience and expertise in one or more the following areas: Business, industry, banking, finance, law, real estate, land development, government, culture, and education. Each Director, so elected, shall continue in office until he/she dies, resigns, or his/her successor has been elected and installed; provided any Director who misses three (3) consecutive meetings of the Board of Directors may, upon a majority vote of the Directors present and voting, be removed from office; provided further, any Director may be removed for cause by two-thirds vote of the Directors present and voting; and provided still further, the Board of Directors may, by a majority vote of the Directors present and voting, fill a vacancy with a temporary Director, who shall serve until the next annual meeting.

5. Board of Directors Nominations and Appointments

- a. Report from Nominating Committee
 - *i.* Background information:
 - 1. Directors with active terms
 - a. Mr. Mark Pitkin, 2022

- b. Mr. Bruce Jasper, 2022
- c. Mr. Paul Brown, 2022
- d. Mr. Hunter Rieseberg, Town Designee
- e. Mrs. Ella Casey, Chamber Designee
- f. Mr. John Hooper, Selectboard Designee
- 2. Directors with expiring terms
 - a. Mr. Terry Dorr, 2020 seeking re-election
 - b. Mr. Richard Bates, 2020 seeking re-election
 - c. Mr. Robert Collins, 2020 seeking re-election
 - d. Ms. Donna Mahair, 2020 seeking re-election
 - e. Dr. Brendan Minnihan, 2021

ii. Directors - 10 vacancies - various terms

- 1. Nominating Committee Slate:
 - a. Bryan Huot, 3 year term, expiring 2024
 - b. Terry Dorr, 2 year term, expiring 2023
 - c. Richard Bates, 2 year term, expiring 2023
 - d. Kate Luppold, 2 year term, expiring 2023
 - e. Steve Smith, 2 year term, expiring 2023
 - f. Jennifer Opalinski, 2 year term, expiring 2023
 - g. Donna Mahair, 1 year term, expiring 2022
 - h. Robert Collins, 1 year term, expiring 2022
 - i. Joe Blair, 1 year term, expiring 2022
 - j. Gary Dudman, 1 year term, expiring 2022

iii. Officers – all 1 year terms

- 1. Nominating Committee Slate
 - a. Mark Pitkin, President
 - b. Bruce Jasper, Vice President
 - c. Terry Dorr, Treasurer
 - d. Richard Bates, Secretary

6. Corporate Resolution for ECON Bank Accounts

- 7. DES Update on Ash Landfill
- 8. Economic Development Coordinator Update

- a. Grants current & upcoming
- b. School to Work Program
- c. Business Outreach/Marketing Initiative
- d. Recreation/Trail Project

9. Economic Development Strategic Plan

a. Division of Duties & Possible Committees

10. Initiatives/Properties/Reports

- a. Initiatives
 - i. ECON II Creation
 - ii. CDBG Housing Rehab
 - iii. Mural Update
 - iv. Town Benches
 - v. Funding for Argus Champion Reboot/Community Newspaper
- b. Properties
 - i. Ash Landfill
 - ii. Smith House & Barn
- c. Reports

11. Other Business

- a. Board preference for meeting time
- 12. Adjourn

2021 ECON Board Meeting Schedule

Monday, August 30th – 7:30 am

Monday, December 6th – 7:30 am